Every person convicted of DWI or a reduced charge must submit to a chemical use assessment administered by the county ($125 fee, plus $5 surcharge) prior to sentencing. The court must order the person to submit to the level of treatment care recommended by the assessment, if the conviction is for a repeat offense within ten years or the conviction was for DWI with an AC of .20 or more. Treatment requirements are spelled out in DPS rules.

CREDIT: The content of this post has been copied or adopted from An Overview of Minnesota’s DWI Laws, originally published by the Minnesota House of Representatives Research Department and written by legislative analysts Jim Cleary and Rebecca Pirius.

This is also part of a series of posts on Minnesota’s DWI Laws.