This article is a section taken from Medical Assistance (MA) a part of the revisions and additions to the Minnesota Health Care Program Eligibility Policy Manual.

MA for People Receiving Services at the Center for Victims of Torture (MA-CVT) Bases Of Eligibility

Minnesota provides Medical Assistance (MA) to certain groups of people as allowed under law. These groups are referred to as a basis of eligibility. A person’s basis of eligibility determines the non-financial criteria and financial methodology used to determine MA eligibility.

MA for people receiving services at the Center for Victims of Torture (MA-CVT) has one basis of eligibility. MA-CVT enrollees may not have another MA basis of eligibility.

Beginning and Ending Bases of Eligibility

The MA-CVT basis of eligibility begins the month the person began receiving CVT services. The MA-CVT basis of eligibility ends the month after the month the enrollee stops receiving CVT services.

Change in Basis of Eligibility for Enrollees

A change in circumstances may affect an MA-CVT enrollee’s basis of eligibility. A person whose CVT basis of eligibility ends is evaluated for other Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) when coverage ends.

Additional information may be required to determine continued eligibility under another basis or for other MHCPs. Some changes that may affect an enrollee’s basis of eligibility include, but are not limited to:

  • CVT services end
  • Change in immigration status
  • Pregnancy

Legal Citations

Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 4

CREDIT: The content of this post has been copied or adopted from the Minnesota Healthcare Programs Eligibility Policy Manual, originally published by the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

This is also part of a series of posts on Minnesota Healthcare Eligibility Policies.