This article is a section taken from Medical Assistance (MA), a part of the revisions and additions to the Minnesota Health Care Program Eligibility Policy Manual.

MA for Long-Term Care Services

Medical Assistance for Long-Term Care Services (MA-LTC) eligibility is available for people who are eligible for MA and meet specific eligibility requirements.

LTC services include:

  • Skilled nursing facility (SNF) services
  • Nursing facility services in an inpatient medical hospital
  • Intermediate care facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (ICF/DD) services
  • Services covered by home and community-based service waivers (Brain Injury (BI), Community Alternative Care (CAC), Community Access Disability Inclusion (CADI), Developmental Disability (DD), and Elderly Waiver (EW))

This chapter includes policies that apply to MA-LTC and links to relevant MA and Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) policies.

MA-LTC Eligibility Requirements

MA-LTC Long-Term Care Consultation

MA-LTC Long-Term Care Home Equity

MA-LTC Uncompensated Transfers

MA-LTC Lookback Period and Transfer Date

MA-LTC Transfer Penalty

MA-LTC Transfer Penalty Exceptions and Hardship Waiver

MA-LTC Other Asset Transfer Considerations

MA-LTC Annuities

MA-LTC Annuity Disclosures

MA-LTC Naming DHS a Preferred Remainder Beneficiary

MA-LTC Financial Eligibility

MA-LTC Asset Assessment

MA-LTC Community Spouse Asset Allowance

MA-LTC Asset Eligibility for the Long-Term Care Spouse

MA-LTC LTC Partnership Insurance


MA-LTC HCBS Waivers for People with Disabilities

MA-LTC HCBS for People Age 65 or Older (Elderly Waiver)

MA-LTC Long-Term Care Facilities

MA-LTC Income Calculations for Long-Term Care Services

MA-LTC Income Calculation Deductions

CREDIT: The content of this post has been copied or adopted from the Minnesota Healthcare Programs Eligibility Policy Manual, originally published by the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

This is also part of a series of posts on Minnesota Healthcare Eligibility Policies.