This article is a section taken from Medical Assistance (MA), a part of the revisions and additions to the Minnesota Health Care Program Eligibility Policy Manual.


Medical Assistance (MA) eligibility has a variety of non-financial, financial and post-eligibility requirements. Some MA policies apply to all MA applicants and enrollees. For example, residency requirements are the same for all types of MA. Other eligibility requirements are different, depending on the applicant’s basis of eligibility. For example, financial eligibility requirements are different.

This chapter includes policies that apply to all or most types of MA and links to policies that apply to all Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP). Eligibility policy that applies to a specific type of MA is located in the relevant MA chapter.

Topics covered in this chapter are:

MA General Requirements

MA Mandatory Verifications

MA Responsibilities

MHCP Rights

MA Non-Financial Eligibility

MA Bases of Eligibility

MA Citizenship and Immigration Status

MA County Residency

MA Living Arrangement

MA Social Security Number

MHCP State Residency

MA Financial Eligibility

MA Asset Limit

MA Income Limit

MA Post-Eligibility

MA Benefit Recovery

MHCP Change in Circumstances

MA Cooperation

MA Cost Sharing

MHCP Fraud

MHCP Inconsistent Information

MA Qualifying Health Care Coverage

MA Referral for Other Benefits

CREDIT: The content of this post has been copied or adopted from the Minnesota Healthcare Programs Eligibility Policy Manual, originally published by the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

This is also part of a series of posts on Minnesota Healthcare Eligibility Policies.