This article is a section taken from Medical Assistance (MA), a part of the revisions and additions to the Minnesota Health Care Program Eligibility Policy Manual.

Medical Assistance (MA) Renewals

Medical Assistance (MA) enrollees must have eligibility renewed every six or 12 months. Renewing eligibility means redetermining eligibility. Most MA enrollees have an annual renewal. Some MA enrollees have a six-month renewal. Some MA enrollees are exempt from the renewal requirement.

The types of MA that have specific renewal policies are:

Exempt from Renewal

The types of MA that are exempt from health care renewals, unless specified, are:

  • Auto newborns have eligibility renewed the month following the month of their first birthday

  • Children receiving Title IV-E or non-Title IV-E Adoption Assistance

  • Children receiving Title IV-E Foster Care or Title IV-E Kinship Assistance

  • People enrolled in Refugee Medical Assistance (RMA)

  • People enrolled in Transitional MA (TMA) or Transition Year MA (TYMA) unless a scheduled renewal is due when TMA or TYMA is ending

  • People receiving Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA) must renew their MSA benefit, but not their automatic MA

  • Pregnant women have eligibility renewed the month following the month that postpartum ends

Legal Citations

Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.916
Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.056, subdivision 7a

CREDIT: The content of this post has been copied or adopted from the Minnesota Healthcare Programs Eligibility Policy Manual, originally published by the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

This is also part of a series of posts on Minnesota Healthcare Eligibility Policies.