This article is a section taken from MA under the TEFRA Option, a part of the revisions and additions to the Minnesota Health Care Program Eligibility Policy Manual.

Non-Financial Eligibility

Medical Assistance (MA) under the TEFRA option is for children with a disability who are otherwise ineligible for MA because household income is above the MA for Families with Children and Adults (MA-FCA) income limit. The TEFRA option for children with a disability is named after the Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act (TEFRA) of 1982 that created the option.

This subchapter includes non-financial eligibility policies. This covers eligibility factors not related to a person’s income or assets.

MA under the TEFRA option is only available to children living in a community living arrangement with at least one biological, natural, adoptive or stepparent. See Appendix D Community Living Arrangements for more information.

In general, MA under the TEFRA option follows the MA for People Who Are Age 65 or Older and People Who Are Blind or Have a Disability (MA-ABD) general requirements policies. Specific differences are indicated in MA under the TEFRA option policies listed below.

This subchapter includes policies that apply to MA under the TEFRA option and links to policies that apply to all MA programs, MA-ABD, and all Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP).

Topics covered in this subchapter are:

MA-ABD Non-Financial Eligibility

MA-ABD Bases of Eligibility

MA-ABD Certification of Disability

MA Citizenship and Immigration Status

MA County Residency

MHCP State Residency

MA Social Security Number

TEFRA Level of Care

Legal Citations

Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.225

CREDIT: The content of this post has been copied or adopted from the Minnesota Healthcare Programs Eligibility Policy Manual, originally published by the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

This is also part of a series of posts on Minnesota Healthcare Eligibility Policies.