Being in a car accident can be a very scary and stressful experience. You may have damage to your car. You may be injured. Unfortunately car accidents are not an uncommon experience in Minnesota or anywhere else. Icy roads, inattentive drivers, or other dangerous conditions mean that even the most cautious of drivers can become an accident victim. Here are a few things to keep in mind if you are ever involved in a car accident.

After an Accident

Make sure you file a police report if you have been involved in an accident. Even if the officer does not write out a full report, there will be a record that you called. This is an important record for your insurance company. If you end up in a lawsuit later, the police report can provide important evidence about the other driver, witnesses, insurance coverage, and fault.

Be sure to contact your insurance company to report your claim. You should have the report number from the police officer. You should also make sure you have the insurance information for the other driver. Your insurance company will set up a file and notify you of what do you if you have any damage to your car or if you have been injured in the accident.

Minnesota No Fault Law

Under Minnesota’s insurance laws, your insurance company has to provide basic personal injury and property damage coverage for an auto accident regardless of whether you are at fault for the car accident. That includes coverage for wages you lose as a result of a car accident, up to $250 per week. Your insurance company will send you forms to file claims for wage loss or if you need to hire someone to help you with household tasks (replacement services). Make sure you fill out the forms completely and promptly to start your coverage.

Your insurer may ask you to undergo an independent medical examination. The purpose of the exam is to determine whether to continue providing no-fault benefits or to cut off benefits. If you believe your insurer has cut off your benefits too soon or you have outstanding medical expenses, you may wish to contact a lawyer. They will help you through the No Fault Arbitration process.

Filing a Lawsuit

If you have been the victim of a car accident or collision, you might want to file a lawsuit. You need to have incurred a certain amount of medical expenses or meet other thresholds before you can sue anyone, however. If your expenses are under $4,000, your remedy is limited to your no fault insurance. If you have reached this threshold and have additional damages you want to recover, consider contacting a lawyer. An attorney can help you prepare your claim even if you are still undergoing medical treatment for your injuries.

After an Accident

Make sure you file a police report if you have been involved in an accident. Even if the officer does not write out a full report, there will be a record that you called. This is an important record for your insurance company. If you end up in a lawsuit later, the police report can provide important evidence about the other driver, witnesses, insurance coverage, and fault.

Be sure to contact your insurance company to report your claim. You should have the report number from the police officer. You should also make sure you have the insurance information for the other driver. Your insurance company will set up a file and notify you of what do you if you have any damage to your car or if you have been injured in the accident.

Minnesota No Fault Law

Under Minnesota’s insurance laws, your insurance company has to provide basic personal injury and property damage coverage for an auto accident regardless of whether you are at fault for the car accident. That includes coverage for wages you lose as a result of a car accident, up to $250 per week. Your insurance company will send you forms to file claims for wage loss or if you need to hire someone to help you with household tasks (replacement services). Make sure you fill out the forms completely and promptly to start your coverage.

Your insurer may ask you to undergo an independent medical examination. The purpose of the exam is to determine whether to continue providing no-fault benefits or to cut off benefits. If you believe your insurer has cut off your benefits too soon or you have outstanding medical expenses, you may wish to contact a lawyer. They will help you through the No Fault Arbitration process.

Filing a Lawsuit

If you have been the victim of a car accident or collision, you might want to file a lawsuit. You need to have incurred a certain amount of medical expenses or meet other thresholds before you can sue anyone, however. If your expenses are under $4,000, your remedy is limited to your no fault insurance. If you have reached this threshold and have additional damages you want to recover, consider contacting a lawyer. An attorney can help you prepare your claim even if you are still undergoing medical treatment for your injuries.


Contact an attorney in this area